RMV structure

The Rhein-Main-Verkehrsverbund [Rhine/Main Regional Transport Association] is a consortium of 15 regional authorities and 11 municipal authorities. The responsibility for rail and bus transport services in the RMV network area has been assigned to RMV by law. In order to carry out their regional responsibilities, the members established the Rhein-Main-Verkehrsverbund GmbH (RMV) in which they together with the State of Hesse are shareholders. The legal framework for local transport services in Hesse provides for the separation of policy requirements and the planning and commissioning of services on the one hand and the delivery of transport services on the other, thereby establishing the role of RMV as a contractor of services and intermediary between the policy-makers and the service providers.