Knut: Flexible local transport for the north of Frankfurt

Front view of the electric shuttle, plastic letters "KNUT" marked"

© rms GmbH

It doesn't always have to be bus and train: With the On-demand service "Knut", passengers in the north of Frankfurt benefit from a completely flexible local transport system. Three electric minibuses operate daily from 5 a.m. to 1 a.m. - with no fixed departure times and no fixed routes. For boarding and alighting, passengers have access to over 600 "virtual" as well as existing stops. Journeys between the city districts are just as easily feasible as journeys to transfer points such as the underground stations Nieder-Eschbach, Bonames Mitte and Kalbach as well as the suburban train stations Berkersheim and Frankfurter Berg.

The service area

The service region for Knut includes Bonames, Harheim, Nieder-Erlenbach and Nieder-Eschbach and thus creates a connection between the four districts. Knut complements the existing public transport services and offers a further feeder function to the underground train routes U2, U9 and the suburban train route S6.

This is how Knut works

Unlike buses and trains, there is no timetable with Knut. You order Knut when you want to go and the electric shuttle is usually there in less than 10 minutes. If other Knut users want to go in the same direction as you, Knut picks them up on the way.

1. Register

Visit your app store and download the free RMV On-Demand app – for iOS or Android.

2. Order

Book a Knut ride and pay with stored credit card or PayPal.

3. Drive off

You can see when Knut will arrive in real time – usually in less than ten minutes.

The Knut fare

One trip, one fixed price – no matter how long you are on the road. If you own a valid ticket, the basic fare is waived. Payment is made via the payment method stored in the app – by credit card, via PayPal or with cashless payment in the vehicle.

Normal Reduced fare*
Basic fare 2.00 euros Not applicable
Convenience surcharge 1.00 euros 1.00 euros
Price per km 0.30 euros 0.30 euros

* Children, holders of a valid ÖPNV (Local public transport) ticket, passengers

FAQ: On-Demand

  • Questions about Knut

  • Knut operates daily from five o'clock in the morning until one o'clock at night.

  • Passengers in the four northern districts of Frankfurt Bonames, Harheim, Nieder-Erlenbach and Nieder-Eschbach can use Knut.

  • The electric minibuses offer five seats. It is easy to get in and out thanks to the large sliding doors on the side. The interior is spacious so that no seats have to be folded down when getting in or out.

  • You can order your journey via the RMV On-Demand app. For passengers who do not have access to the On-demand app, it is also possible to book a journey by telephone.

    For a telephone booking, passengers must register once in person RMV-MobilitätsZentrale Frankfurt - Verkehrsinsel at Hauptwache and they will be assigned a customer number. Once you have stated the customer number, you can book your journey via the RMV service telephone (069 / 24 24 80 24).

  • In Frankfurt, On-demand shuttle transport is called Knut. Knut stands for Kompakt (Compact). Nachhaltig (Sustainable). Urban. Typically Frankfurt. The name of the new means of transport should be short, easy to understand and quick to remember. Just Knut, that's all.

  • There is a basic fare of two euros per journey, but holders of a valid ticket, children and passengers are exempt from this. In addition, there is a convenience surcharge of one euro and a kilometre price of 30 cents. Passengers can pay via the app by credit card or PayPal. You can also pay by card in the vehicle.

  • General questions

  • Please use our customer portal to reach the contact person responsible for your individual request. Alternatively, you can contact us via the RMV service telephone (069 / 24 24 80 24), or Facebook and Twitter.

  • Anyone can use the On-Demand services on RMV. Children (up to and including 5 years of age) require a child seat or infant carrier and must be accompanied by a person of adult age. Children and young people (6 to 12 years or up to 150 cm tall) need a seat raiser. This is available in the vehicle.

  • The On-Demand app and the On-Demand service can be used by everyone. When booking, you can indicate if you need a wheelchair or walker space. Vehicles are equipped with a ramp for barrier-free access. People with visual impairments can operate and use the app via voice-over. The basic fare is waived for holders of a severely disabled pass.

  • After the ride, you have the option to rate the service in the app.

  • Questions on booking

  • You will receive the booking code after your booking has been confirmed in the app. Please have the code ready when boarding the vehicle and give it to the driver.

  • Yes, it is possible to book your ride in advance. Simply select the desired departure day and time in the app (available in the Google Play Store  or Apple App Store or book by telephone with our local partner.

  • If you give us sufficient notice, you can cancel your booking free of charge. You can do this in your booked journeys under "Details".

    a) In the case of an ad-hoc booking with an immediate request for a ride, a cancellation free of charge is possible up to 60 seconds after booking.

    b) For advance bookings or permanent bookings, a journey can be cancelled free of charge up to 60 minutes before the journey.

  • After booking, you will receive a trip confirmation and a booking code. Please go to the pick-up stop at the booked time, you can see the estimated time of arrival at the pick-up location in the app. Please be prepared with the booking code when boarding.

  • You can book your rides easily via the on-demand app (in the Google Play Store or Apple App Store) or by phone directly with our local partners .

  • Yes, telephone bookings are also possible. To do so, you need to register with our local partner. There you can then also book a ride by phone.

  • Once you have entered your starting point and destination address, you can enter further details such as the number of people.

  • Questions about the journey

  • The app will show you which vehicle is picking you up. The vehicle type and registration number will be provided for precise identification. You can find more information by clicking on "Vehicle" under the journey details.

  • You can take one piece of hand luggage with you, e.g. a bag or a rucksack. If you have larger items of luggage such as suitcases or prams, please indicate this when booking. Bicycles or bulky items cannot be carried.

  • In the app, you can see where you will be picked up, which vehicle is coming and when it is expected to be there. You can track the current position of the vehicle at any time.

  • Virtual stops are the places where you get on or off the On-demand shuttle. These are usually even closer than the nearest public transport stop. The on-demand app will guide you to your virtual stop after booking. Alternatively, our customer service will tell you exactly where you will be picked up.

  • The driver will wait for a few minutes at the pick-up location and will try to call you.  If you are not available, your journey will be cancelled. A fee may be charged for this.

  • The app will show you which vehicle is picking you up. The vehicle type and registration number will be provided for precise identification. You can find more information by clicking on "Vehicle" under the journey details.

  • Questions about payment

  • If you have an RMV travel permit valid in the area being serviced, you can indicate this when making your booking. The discount will then be automatically taken into account.

  • You can pay by credit card, PayPal or with cashless payment in the vehicle. You select your preferred mode of payment in the app. When booking via the app, the fare is already displayed before the booking is completed. You can also pay with cashless payment in the vehicle when booking by phone.

  • The RMV 10-minute guarantee does not apply to on-demand shuttle services, as these do not run according to a timetable.

Knut impressions

Side view of electric shuttle with lettering: KNUT On-Demand-Shuttle

© rms GmbH

Front view of the electric shuttle, plastic letters "KNUT" marked"

© rms GmbH

Exterior view of electric shuttle with lettering: Call me by app!"

© rms GmbH

Interior of the electric shuttle with five seats

Spacious, comfortable seats
© rms GmbH

View into the engine room of an electric shuttle

View into the engine room of KNUT
© rms GmbH

Opened refuelling device of the electric shuttle

"Refuelling" is done electrically.
© rms GmbH

Power instead of fuel gauge

Power instead of fuel gauge
© rms GmbH

View of the driver from the steering wheel, speedometer and smartphone

Passengers and destinations are coordinated via the app
© rms GmbH

Exterior view of the electric shuttle KNUT

© rms GmbH

Exterior view of the electric shuttle KNUT

© rms GmbH

f.l.: Dr.-Ing. Tom Reinhold (traffiQ Managing Director), Dr. Michael Barillère-Scholz (Managing Director of ioki), Prof. Knut Ringat (RMV Managing Director) and Bruno Ginnuth (Managing Director of the operator CleverShuttle) present the new on-demand service.

"Electric shuttle KNUT on the road".

Knut on the road in Bonames
© rms GmbH

Further information on the project

The joint project OnDeMo is running as a pilot project until 31.12.2024. For more detailed information on the project, which is funded by the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure, please visit https://sites.rmv.de/ondemo.

Legal information

Knut: Flexibler Nahverkehr für den Frankfurter Norden

Vorderansicht des Elektroshuttles, aufgestellte Kunststoffbuchstaben "KNUT"

© rms GmbH

Es muss nicht immer Bus und Bahn sein: Mit dem On-Demand-Angebot Knut profitieren Fahrgäste im Frankfurter Norden von einem ganz flexiblen Nahverkehr. Drei elektrische Kleinbusse sind täglich von 5.00 bis 1.00 Uhr im Einsatz – ohne feste Abfahrtszeiten und ohne feste Strecken. Für den Ein- und Ausstieg stehen den Fahrgästen weit über 600 "virtuelle", aber auch schon bestehende Haltestellen zur Verfügung. Fahrten zwischen den Stadtteilen sind ebenso möglich, wie Fahrten zu Umsteigepunkten wie den U-Bahn-Stationen Nieder-Eschbach, Bonames Mitte und Kalbach sowie den S-Bahn-Stationen Berkersheim und Frankfurter Berg.

Das Bediengebiet

Das Bediengebiet von Knut umfasst Bonames, Harheim, Nieder-Erlenbach und Nieder-Eschbach und schafft so eine Verbindung zwischen den vier Stadtteilen. Knut ergänzt das bestehende ÖPNV-Angebot und bietet eine weitere Zubringerfunktion zu den U-Bahn-Linien U2, U9 und zur S-Bahn-Linie S6.

So funktioniert Knut

Anders als bei Bussen und Bahnen gibt es bei Knut keinen Fahrplan. Sie bestellen Knut, wenn Sie fahren möchten und der Elektroshuttle ist in der Regel in weniger als 10 Minuten da. Wenn andere Knut-Nutzer in die gleiche Richtung wollen wie Sie, sammelt Knut sie auf dem Weg ein.

1. Registrieren

Besuchen Sie Ihren App-Store und laden Sie die kostenlose RMV On-Demand-App herunter – für iOS oder Android.

2. Bestellen

Eine Knut-Fahrt buchen und mit hinterlegter Kreditkarte oder PayPal bezahlen.

3. Losfahren

In Echtzeit sehen, wann Knut bei Ihnen eintrifft – in der Regel in weniger als zehn Minuten.

Knut im Video erklärt

Impressionen von Knut

Seitenansicht Elektro-Shuttle mit Schrift: KNUT On-Demand-Shuttle

© rms GmbH

Vorderansicht des Elektroshuttles, aufgestellte Kunststoffbuchstaben "KNUT"

© rms GmbH

Außenansicht Elektroshuttle mit Schriftzug: Ruf mich per App!

© rms GmbH

Innenraum des Elektro-Shuttles mit fünf Sitzen

Großzügige, bequeme Sitzplätze
© rms GmbH

Blick in den Motorraum eines Elektro-Shuttles

Blick in den Motorraum von KNUT
© rms GmbH

Aufgeklappte Tankvorrichtung des Elektro-Shuttles

"Getankt" wird elektrisch.
© rms GmbH

Power- statt Tankanzeige

Power- statt Tankanzeige
© rms GmbH

Blick des Fahrers aus Lenkrad, Tacho und Smartphone

Über die App werden Fahrgäste und Ziele koordiniert
© rms GmbH

Außenansicht des Elektro-Shuttles KNUT

© rms GmbH

Außenansicht des Elektro-Shuttles KNUT

© rms GmbH

v.l.: Dr.-Ing. Tom Reinhold (traffiQ-Geschäftsführer), Dr. Michael Barillère-Scholz (Geschäftsführer von ioki), Prof. Knut Ringat (RMV-Geschäftsführer) und Bruno Ginnuth (Geschäftsführer des Betreibers CleverShuttle) präsentieren das neue On-Demand-Angebot.

Elektro-Shuttle KNUT unterwegs auf der Straße

Knut unterwegs in Bonames
© rms GmbH

Der Knut-Tarif

Eine Fahrt, ein fester Preis – egal, wie lange Sie unterwegs sind. Sind Sie Besitzer einer gültigen Fahrkarte, dann entfällt der Grundpreis. Die Bezahlung erfolgt über das in der App hinterlegte Zahlungsmittel – per Kreditkarte, per PayPal oder bargeldlos im Fahrzeug.

Normal Ermäßigt*
Grundpreis 2,00 € Entfällt
Komfortaufschlag 1,00 € 1,00 €
Preis pro km 0,30 € 0,30 €

* Kinder, Inhaber eines gültigen ÖPNV-Tickets, Mitfahrende

FAQ: On-Demand

  • Fragen zu Knut

  • Pro Fahrt fällt ein Grundpreis von zwei Euro an, von dem jedoch Inhaber einer gültigen Fahrkarte, Kinder und Mitfahrende befreit sind. Hinzu kommt ein Komfortaufschlag von einem Euro und ein Kilometerpreis von 30 Cent. Bezahlen können die Fahrgäste über die App per Kreditkarte oder mit PayPal. Zudem kann im Fahrzeug per Karte bezahlt werden.

  • Fahrgäste in den vier nördlichen Frankfurter Stadtteilen Bonames, Harheim, Nieder-Erlenbach und Nieder-Eschbach können Knut nutzen.

  • Knut ist täglich von fünf Uhr morgens bis ein Uhr nachts im Einsatz.

  • Die elektrischen Kleinbusse bieten fünf Sitzplätze. Der Ein- und Ausstieg erfolgt komfortabel über große seitliche Schiebetüren. Der Innenraum ist großzügig gestaltet, sodass beim Ein- und Ausstieg keine Sitze umgeklappt werden müssen.

  • Die Fahrt kann via RMV On-Demand-App bestellt werden. Für Fahrgäste, die keinen Zugriff auf die On-Demand-App haben, besteht zudem die Möglichkeit eine Fahrt telefonisch zu buchen.

    Für eine telefonische Buchung müssen sich Fahrgäste einmalig persönlich in der RMV-MobilitätsZentrale Frankfurt - Verkehrsinsel an der Hauptwache registrieren und eine Kundennummer zuweisen lassen. Unter Angabe der Kundennummer kann dann über das RMV-Servicetelefon (069 / 24 24 80 24) eine Fahrt gebucht werden.

  • In Frankfurt heißt der On-Demand-Shuttle-Verkehr Kunt. Knut steht für Kompakt. Nachhaltig. Urban. Typisch Frankfurt. Der Name des neuen Verkehrsmittels soll kurz, leicht verständlich und schnell zu merken sein. Einfach Knut eben.

  • Allgemeine Fragen

  • Die On-Demand-Angebote im RMV kann jeder nutzen. Kinder (bis einschließlich 5 Jahre) benötigen einen Kindersitz oder eine Babyschale und müssen von einer volljährigen Person begleitet werden. Kinder und Jugendliche (6 bis 12 Jahre bzw. bis 150 cm Größe) brauchen eine Sitzplatzerhöhung. Diese steht im Fahrzeug zur Verfügung.

  • Die On-Demand-App und der On-Demand-Service sind für jeden nutzbar. Bei der Buchung können Sie angegeben, wenn Sie einen Rollstuhl- oder Rollatorplatz benötigen. Für den barrierefreien Einstieg werden Fahrzeuge mit einer Rampe ausgestattet. Menschen mit Sehbehinderung können die App per Voice-Over bedienen und nutzen.

  • Bitte nutzen Sie unser Kundenportal, um den für Ihr individuelles Anliegen zuständigen Ansprechpartner zu erreichen. Alternativ können Sie uns über das RMV-Servicetelefon (069 / 24 24 80 24),  Facebook und Twitter kontaktieren.

  • Nach der Fahrt haben Sie die Möglichkeit, den Service in der App zu bewerten.

  • Fragen zur Buchung

  • Ja, Vorausbuchungen vor Fahrtantritt sind möglich. Sie wählen in der App (im Google Play Store oder Apple App Store erhältlich) einfach den gewünschten Abfahrtstag und die Zeit aus oder buchen telefonisch bei unserem Partner vor Ort

  • Ja, auch telefonische Buchungen sind möglich. Dazu müssen Sie sich bei unserem Partner vor Ort registrieren. Dort können Sie dann auch eine Fahrt telefonisch buchen.

  • Wenn Sie Ihre Start- und Zieladresse eingegeben haben, können Sie weitere Details wie die Personenanzahl angeben.

  • Bei ausreichendem Vorlauf können Sie Ihre Buchung kostenfrei stornieren. Dies können Sie in Ihren gebuchten Fahrten unter "Details“ vornehmen.

    a) Bei einer Ad-hoc-Buchung mit sofortigem Fahrtwunsch ist eine kostenlose Stornierung bis 60 Sekunden nach Buchung kostenfrei möglich.

    b) Bei Vorausbuchungen oder Dauerbuchungen kann eine Fahrt bis 60 Minuten vor Fahrt kostenfrei storniert werden.

  • Nach der Buchung erhalten Sie eine Fahrtbestätigung und einen Buchungscode. Bitte begeben Sie sich zur gebuchten Zeit an die Abholhaltestelle, die voraussichtliche Ankunftszeit am Abholort sehen Sie in der App. Halten Sie beim Einsteigen den Buchungscode bereit.

  • Fahrten lassen sich ganz einfach über die On-Demand-App (im Google Play Store oder Apple App Store) oder per Telefon direkt bei unseren Partnern vor Ort buchen.

  • Den Buchungscode erhalten Sie, nachdem Ihre Buchung in der App bestätigt wurde. Bitte halten Sie den Code beim Einsteigen ins Fahrzeug bereit und teilen ihn dem Fahrpersonal mit.

  • Fragen zur Fahrt

  • Virtuelle Haltestellen sind die Orte, an denen Sie ins On-Demand-Shuttle ein- oder aussteigen. Diese sind meist noch näher als die jeweils nächste ÖPNV-Haltestelle. Die On-Demand-App führt Sie nach Buchung zu Ihrer virtuellen Haltestelle. Alternativ sagt Ihnen unser Kundenservice, wo genau Sie abgeholt werden.

  • Das Fahrpersonal wartet für wenige Minuten am Abholort und wird versuchen, Sie anzurufen.  Sollten Sie nicht erreichbar sein, wird Ihre Fahrt storniert. Dafür kann eine Gebühr berechnet werden.

  • In der App wird Ihnen angezeigt, welches Fahrzeug Sie abholt. Zur genauen Identifikation stehen Ihnen der Fahrzeugtyp und das KFZ-Kennzeichen zur Verfügung. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie, wenn Sie unter den Fahrtdetails auf "Fahrzeug" klicken.

  • Sie können ein Handgepäckstück mitnehmen, z.B. eine Tasche oder einen Rucksack. Haben Sie größere Gepäckstücke wie Koffer oder Kinderwagen bitten wir Sie, das bei der Buchung anzugeben. Fahrräder oder Sperrgut können nicht befördert werden.

  • In der App sehen Sie, wo Sie abgeholt werden, welches Fahrzeug kommt und wann es voraussichtlich da sein wird. Sie können jederzeit die aktuelle Position des Fahrzeugs verfolgen.

  • In der App wird Ihnen angezeigt, welches Fahrzeug Sie abholt. Zur genauen Identifikation stehen Ihnen der Fahrzeugtyp und das KFZ-Kennzeichen zur Verfügung. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie, wenn Sie unter den Fahrtdetails auf "Fahrzeug" klicken.

  • Fragen zur Bezahlung

  • Wenn Sie eine im Bediengebiet gültige RMV-Fahrtberechtigung haben, können Sie dies bei der Buchung mitangeben. Die Vergünstigung wird anschließend automatisch berücksichtigt.

  • Sie können per Kreditkarte, PayPal oder bargeldlos im Fahrzeug zahlen. Das bevorzugte Zahlungsmittel wählen Sie in der App aus. Der Fahrpreis wird bei Buchung über die App bereits vor Abschluss der Buchung angezeigt. Auch bei telefonischer Buchung können Sie bargeldlos im Fahrzeug bezahlen.

  • Die RMV 10-Minuten-Garantie gilt nicht für die On-Demand-Shuttle-Verkehre, da diese nicht nach Fahrplan verkehren.

Weiterführende Informationen zum Projekt

Das Verbundprojekt OnDeMo läuft als Pilotprojekt bis 31.12.2024. Ausführliche Informationen zu dem vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur geförderten Projekt gibt es unter https://sites.rmv.de/ondemo.

Rechtliche Hinweise